Current Thoughts On Mass Effect: Andromeda

Let’s be clear, Mass Effect: Andromeda is one of the biggest games of its kind. This is huge scales beyond the original trilogy, byfar. In terms of the overall story? Definitely not. But just about everything in this game is massive. I play in limited increments, so building a review is taking time. In the meantime, I’d like to share some of the thoughts I’ve had while attempting to play through this gargantuan game.

  1. How on earth did I never heard about the Andromeda Initiative during the Mass Effect trilogy? This seems like a big deal, I’m just saying. I would find it hard to believe that Commander Shepherd had no idea this was going on. I mean, they send a space station about the size of the freaking Citadel, plus four other massive “Arks” containing thousands upon thousands of new settlers. I know, I know – Andromeda was made after the original trilogy, so continuity is a bit of a problem here. It does seem like such vast resources could have been used to help deal with the Reapers, though.
  2. My sibling is stuck in a coma for who knows how long?! Come on, this is such a major letdown. How cool would it be to have another Pathfinder out there helping me out? She still hasn’t woken up, and I’ve only had a brief communication with her.
  3. Andromeda sure is pretty. 
  4. Those facial animations, though. Hit and miss, to say the least. At times I think they look great. Other times…not so much.
  5. At least the voice acting is top-notch. Peebee annoys the heck out of me so far.
  6. Also, why is Peebee the least attractive Asari I’ve ever seen?
  7. Why is Cora into guys but has a total gay haircut? Lol. Just saying – this seems kinda odd.
  8. Vetra is not as cool as Garrus. I’m sorry.
  9. In fact, NO ONE is as cool as Garrus. I like the new team but none of them are as appealing as Garrus was. Better hopes for next game, I suppose. Still, I can learn to love new characters.
  10. The UI is CONFUSING as heck. Just how many screens to I need to jump through just to accomplish a few basic tasks?
  11. The resource system is confusing as heck. 
  12. Noooo! Dad!!!-er, Alec Ryder! Don’t do it!
  13. The Kett are kinda lame. They just seem kind of your average alien foe. Perhaps there is more depth to them. My one encounter with Archon was disappointing. He insulted me, as expected.
  14. Andromeda is very pretty.
  15. Scanning is still lame. Hey BioWare, did you not hear us from previous games? We do NOT enjoy scanning. Making us do much much more of it is the opposite of listening to us.
  16. The combat is definitely one of the highlights. Can’t wait to unlock higher tier guns and powers.
  17. Did I mention Andromeda is pretty? Very pretty game. Some of the characters look rough, though.
  18. Yay for colonizing! Kinda makes me feel bad about what’s going on in the Milky Way right now – oh wait, it’s been 600 years. Everything has changed for the better or worse by now. The war HAS to be over.
  19. Jump jets are fun. Kinda reminds me of The Force Unleashed.
  20. Soooooo many side quests. Good lord.
  21. Seriously? All the other Arks are lost? How did we get so lucky? Gah, and I bet you expect me to find out what happened, right?
  22. The Nomad is legit but where the heck are my cannons? The Mako definitely handles climbing better so far in comparison.
  23. Soooo much scanning. 
  24. I don’t care about your mother that’s still frozen. We just made our first settlement, folks – slow it down.
  25. Is Tann gay? His voice is so entertaining.
  26. Uh, Jaal is cool but ugly as sin – why would anyone want to romance him? Same goes for Vetra, Peebee, etc.
  27. Ooh, a jungle world!
  28. I take that back – jungle world is confusing and frustrating.
  29. I can’t use my Nomad???!! The heck?!
  30. Sooo much climbing. 
  31. Hey, cool – dinosaurs!
  32. What do the Remnant remind me of?
  33. Oh yeah – Forerunners from Halo. 
  34. Also, great concept guys – an ancient mysterious race with powerful technology waiting to be exploited. Sounds just like a story I know of from the Milky Way. So original.
  35. The dialogue is pretty dang entertaining. I love listening to Drack during missions.
  36. Amazing how BioWare manages to represent Intelligent Design even in the most minute way possible. I’m impressed. Too bad 99% of the rest of the game and its characters push Evolution 100% of the time.
  37. Wow, Andromeda is gorgeous. 
  38. Can we be done with the jungle planet already? I miss my Nomad, and the open road.
  39. Have to admit, the Tempest is just as cool as the Normandy, except the interior is way more confusing to navigate at first. 
  40. I love my Ryder. But, I miss Commander Shepherd and his ability to be a complete jerk to people.
  41. Dang, still on this stupid jungle planet. 
  42. At least the jungle planet is pretty.
  43. I’m going to be playing this for awhile, aren’t I?
  44. You win again, BioWare. I’ll play your little game until my eyes bleed. It’s addicting. Even with the lame jungle planet and the odd animations at times. 
  45. Oh, here’s a huge update out of nowhere – somehow that made a significant difference. The eyes look so much better, not gonna lie. 
  46. Oh, I can skip the lengthy travel sequences now? Praise God. 

Leave a comment