5 Star Wars Movies That I Do Not Want To See

Disney’s plan for their newly acquired franchise, Star Wars is following a similar path to that of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, greatly expanding their current canon of both film, television, video games and books. While the ambitious Marvel Studios releases multiple films a year currently, Star Wars is likewise bringing regular installments, albeit at a slower pace. The current plan is to release a new film every year through at least 2019 when we can expect the conclusion of the newest trilogy, Episode 9 to finalize the Skywalker storyline. Beyond that, it’s unclear exactly what they will do. Much of this depends on the success of each film, and their approach to Star Wars appears to be a bit more conservative than Marvel’s plans.

As most of you know, I’m a huge Star Wars fan. The biggest? Certainly not. There are a lot of things about Star Wars I simply don’t care about, and much of that is due to the sheer amount of material available for fans. Disney also drastically changed the canon of the current Star Wars universe, which cuts down to a handful of books compared to the dozens previously written. I understand this move, but now it leaves me less interested in checking out anything non-canon. Ultimately, I would say what keeps me coming back to Star Wars at the end of the day is the Skywalker saga. It’s an incredible narrative, filled with such powerful moments of loss, betrayal, love, sacrifice, and so much more.

With the recent release of the fantastic Rogue One, the first of the anthology films in the Star Wars series, my expectations for future anthology films are much higher than ever before. I was concerned that Rogue One would be too different from previous Star Wars films and missing the key elements that have made them great. Fortunately, my concerns were allayed. However, like I said before – I do not love everything Disney releases that is Star Wars. Just because they make a movie in the Star Wars universe does not mean I will automatically love it. I want to see originality while maintaining what makes the films great. Point of fact, not every major character needs their own movie.

That in mind, here are the Star Wars films I do not want to see that either are in current production, or are rumored to be in the works, or just could ever be made:

  1. Young Han Solo. Folks, Han Solo is one of my favorite characters of all time, and Harrison Ford has made that character so iconic, whether it was the original trilogy or the recent Force Awakens. He is just fantastic and lovable as can be. That being said, his character is not existent without Harrison Ford. I’m sorry, folks but Harrison Ford was only in his thirties in the original films and he looked plenty young to me. I do not want to see some other young fella coming in and trying to recreate what made Han Solo great by attempting to actually portray him. It’s not possible. Han Solo was played by Harrison Ford, and frankly I think it’s insulting and kind of a cheap move to expand on his character like this when we’ve got so many good memories of Harrison Ford already as him (minus his horrific death in Force Awakens). LEAVE HIM ALONE, DISNEY. This is a bad move, mark my words. I don’t care that you’ve got Woody Harrelson playing as his mentor (whatever that means) or the lovely Emilia Clarke as his love interest. I don’t care that Lawrence Kasdan is writing the script, I do not care. I do not want this movie. 
  2. Young Yoda. Yet another beloved iconic character that is rumored to be getting the solo film treatment. Let me inject a subtle observation about the universe of Star Wars, folks: Mystery can be a good thing. Not knowing all the details and history of a character is sometimes perfectly acceptable. It adds to the intrigue of a story. Case in point, Yoda. This is a character almost 1000 years old by the time we first see him, and it’s pretty apparent we know little about what transpired those hundreds of years before. I’m fine with that. If he had a family, cool – doesn’t matter. His character is so unique and fascinating on his own merit, we do not need to break down his hidden past in such an expansive way. It’s kind of the same argument I have for Han Solo. My memories of Yoda are beloved memories, and the only expansion of his character I ever want to see is in the continued story of the Skywalker saga in small doses. Another thing to keep in mind is that his appearance would almost undoubtedly be different than we’ve seen previously, and as we’ve been used to seeing him in his older age – it would be a rude awakening to see a young Yoda’s complexion.
  3. Boba Fett. Look, I understand that supposedly Boba Fett managed to escape his fate in Return of the Jedi and came back to be a nuisance again somehow, but his character is pretty thin. Young Boba in Attack of the Clones was about as entertaining as Jar Jar, just less obnoxious (where do they find these child actors?). Look, he is just not an interesting enough character to merit his own film. Is he cool looking? You bet. Does he have cool lines? Yes, what little he did in the original trilogy. This isn’t enough to build on in a solo film. Furthermore, there should be room left for future bounty hunters that can be fresh and original. This would be too much rehashing of the same old thing again.
  4. SPOILER ALERT – Another Rogue One film. If you’ve seen Rogue One, you’ll understand what I mean when I say this would not work. No, it literally would not work. All the main characters die by the end of the film. This was a hard move, yet tasteful on Gareth Edwards’ part. We’ve never seen sacrifice on this level before, and it worked beautifully albeit tragically. There are actual rumors that Felicity Jones could reprise the role, but I’m thinking – how?! Unless it’s another prequel before Rogue One, which would be a hilarious concept – she ain’t coming back from that explosion, folks. Just let this film be what it was and accept its conclusion.
  5. Younger Luke Skywalker film. I know, you’re thinking, no one is going to make that! Well, folks, I thought the same thing about Han Solo before it was set into motion. Look, Mark Hamill was already in his twenties when he played young Luke, and he played him just fine. I admit that there is a lot that happened between Episode III and IV during his youngest years, but it can’t have been that interesting. He was a poor kid living on a moisture farm in a desert – the whole purpose for Obi-Wan bringing him there was so that it was easier to keep an eye on him and he knew he was unlikely to get into much trouble. Folks, we don’t need to keep rehashing the same characters in younger iterations. I want to see older Luke now in Episode 8, and that’s where he belongs. Forget about the past and enjoy what lies ahead, Disney.

Notice a theme with this list? The underlining point is this: Expanding on old ideas is not wise way to continue a franchise. The Marvel CU is handling their films brilliantly because they keep adding new ideas and new characters and expanding in some big ways. Sure, they are repeating some old ideas constantly, but I never grow tired of their films because there’s enough new content to keep coming back. They have an amazing talent of blending old with the new, like the Avengers films, which introduce new characters every time but also maintain our current lineup.

Soon I’ll be releasing a list of the Star Wars films I do want to see, and hopefully you will agree that there are plenty of new and fresh ideas and definitely more appealing concepts to make for the big screen. One of the things I loved about the Force Awakens was its inclusion of new characters (although I admit that I did not like all of them), even if the plot essentially copied A New Hope.

On a side note, I also heard rumors of a possible reboot of the prequels, but I highly doubt this will ever happen because it would be a massive undertaking and a huge insult to current fans and George Lucas. I didn’t include it on the list because I don’t think it’s ever going to see the light of day. Are the prequels flawed? You betcha, but they did have some amazing redeeming qualities, and there’s no reason to abandon them.

Star Wars is a huge universe, folks. There is so much opportunity for new ideas and ways to honor the current saga without rehashing old ideas in obvious attempts to cash in on previous success. While I imagine I will watch most any Star Wars film released, I’m afraid that if this pattern of repetition continues it will leave the franchise watered down and lose its appeal. At some point, the Skywalker saga needs to end, and I’m hoping Episode 9 will accomplish this tastefully and bring us the conclusion we need. The anthology films also need to end at some point. Hollywood has plenty of new ideas, and they should invest in them. I understand sequels, prequels and anthology films are appealing and I’m all for them, but at some point a story needs to end. 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “5 Star Wars Movies That I Do Not Want To See

  1. Shrey Ahuja says:

    Couldn’t have agreed more.
    We need new characters whom we can relate to, with different qualities. One of my favourite characters in the Star Wars universe is Finn. He wasn’t a Jedi, but he stood up for what he believed in. He went toe-to-toe with a Sith even though he wasn’t a Jedi. You can’t get that in any of the other characters.
    We need new characters and new stories.

    • jhand904 says:

      Yeah man I loved Finn and I think he’s going to be a great addition to our new lineup. The only new characters I don’t care for actually are Snoke and Maz – everyone else seems interesting enough. Agreed – new characters and new stories is the best way to continue. I wouldn’t mind a few old characters in their own films as I’ll mention in a future post, but generally speaking it’s time to move on.

  2. Spot on. I’ve just posted something similar on my page re the young Han Solo film. Like you, I’ll go and see any Star Wars film but I am not excited for this one in the least.

Leave a comment